I bet we can. How many people are pinging Fedex right now???
    06-21-2010 07:58 AM
    Why would you want to do that? Then all we would hear is how fedex failed to handle Apple tracking. Have in mind that there were over 600,000+ iphones ordered on day one and lets say that each users refreshed and tried over and over again. 600,000*10= 6,000,000 in a matter of minutes. Any server(s) will go down. Most are not equipped to handle traffic like that. I dont care who you are. Apple site was very inoperable due to the flood of request.

BTW I know what Im talking about Im a system engineer I work here. BTW no I dont work for Microsoft

BBC NEWS | Technology | Microsoft's virtual storage centre
    06-21-2010 08:09 AM
    honestly, just tracking a few hundred thousand orders is not a big deal for a web site. it wont happen
    06-21-2010 08:11 AM
    Yeah, tell that to ATT. Their **** was so bad, they took my order with a paper pad and a freakin pencil. Then they had to swipe my credit card with a carbon copy doo-joby I haven't seen in years.
    06-21-2010 08:14 AM
    AT&T took my order the same way, but I think that just tracking the packages couldn't do too much damage to the servers. The numbers are really just like a link to a page aren't they?
    06-21-2010 08:57 AM
    Yeah, but there's still a limit to the number of open ports their servers can handle. The problem with ATT's website was too many people pinging it at the same time. That's similiar to a distributed denial of service attack, basically.
    06-21-2010 08:59 AM
    wow, now Apple's tracking site is down!
    06-21-2010 09:07 AM
    tracking simple orders is not that big of a deal. Fedex literally has millions of people tracking packages. They can handle it. trust me
    06-21-2010 09:13 AM
    I know, it was just a joke... but still, I think Fedex system administrators should train ATT on how to handle things like this.
    06-21-2010 09:16 AM