Last night all of a sudden the edge symbol - 'E' appeared on the top left corner of my display.

Since then my iPhone is continuously lagging.

Suspiciously, everytime I put my phone near a speaker there is a continuous static even though I'm not making/receiving a call or sending/receiving a text.

The lag is such that it's causing a lot of choppiness and the overall UI is not behaving as smooth as it should.

These problems weren't there before the symbol appeared.

I contacted my service provider and have asked them to cancel my data services.

Will that solve the problem or does this go deeper than that?

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks!!
    01-23-2010 02:56 AM
    I work as a dispatcher, before 3g came out anytime our cell phones recieved any kind of signal text, call, or data, it messed with our 800mhz radio systems. We had to place our phones behind us away from the radios. That problem stopped with 3g. I work nights, and ATT is constantly dropping to E and then nothing at all between the times of 2:30am to 5:30am. I've complained to them about it and they said they fixed the problem, but it's not fixed.
    Last edited by cheliebely12; 01-23-2010 at 06:08 AM.
    01-23-2010 05:57 AM
    i have the same 'E" symbol now im curious
    01-23-2010 07:27 AM
    E is EDGE. It's slower than 3G so it will definitely cause lag. It's a carrier issue, though, and not your phone.
    01-23-2010 08:23 AM
    Suspiciously, everytime I put my phone near a speaker there is a continuous static even though I'm not making/receiving a call or sending/receiving a text.
    this is actually your speakers picking up interference from your phone. so in this case your phone is causing the problem
    01-23-2010 10:05 AM
    this is actually your speakers picking up interference from your phone. so in this case your phone is causing the problem
    If the phone is causing the problem how come the continuous static occurs only when "E" is there and otherwise it isn't present?