I'm thinking of getting an iphone 3gs. I have some questions. I'm not really sure how to ask it coz I'm really bad at asking questions that make sense ( see topic title for this topic lol, see what I mean) I'm still new to cellphone plans and what not. This will be my first cellphone that I will be paying for monthly if I do go ahead and get the iphone. I have a cellphone but I'm under my parent's family plan so I don't really pay for anything really.

I'm probably going to get the iphone within the next month. But at the same time I also plan on moving to another city with probably a different area code within the next year.

For example, lets say I live in San Diego and I get the iphone with a san diego area code for my cell number, but I plan on moving to San Francisco next year. My friend said if people in San Fransico tries calling me or vice-versa there will be long distance charges or what not because even though I live in SF, I am still using the SD area code. Like I said, I'm new to this stuff so I don't really know So if anyone can clarify or help me out, its much appreciated.
    09-20-2009 06:01 PM
    After you move, just call up AT&T and they'll give you a new number with the correct area code for where you move. If it's the first time you have had to change it, they'll do it at no charge, but after the first time i'm not sure.
    09-20-2009 06:09 PM
    I'm thinking of getting an iphone 3gs. I have some questions. I'm not really sure how to ask it coz I'm really bad at asking questions that make sense ( see topic title for this topic lol, see what I mean) I'm still new to cellphone plans and what not. This will be my first cellphone that I will be paying for monthly if I do go ahead and get the iphone. I have a cellphone but I'm under my parent's family plan so I don't really pay for anything really.