"No Service" when using 3G

supermum

Jun 28, 2008
Visit site
I went the Apple store and here is what I have learned:

Apple is deathly afraid you are going to throw a fit (with a store packed full of potential customers I can see why.)

Honestly I did not plan on throwing a fit... nor did I. Here is what happened:

I walked in and said, "I would like to speak to someone about my iPhone that is not working as it should." The greeter handed me an orange shirt who asked me a few questions about how serious the problem was (wanted to make sure it wasn't the same glitches EVERYONE is experiencing). Once she determined that it was a "unique problem" she very casually said, "The Geniuses are currently booked... can you come back in a few days?" My response was that of shock.. not of anger.. as I have never used an Apple store before for customer service and planned on waiting awhile to get customer service.. but not a few days. I said very honestly (jaw dropped), "Are you serious? I live twenty-five minutes from here." And she immediately ran off and got her manager who whispered back and forth for awhile and pointed at me over and over... I am assuming to assess if I was going to blow up or something (perhaps they had an exploding customer recently) and she came over and said the Genius would see me now (very Wizard of Oz).
The Genius multitasked between myself and a really awesome guy who was having a ton of problems with his iPhone (he was in the middle of a long restore so I did not cut into his time... also, he made his Genius appointment over a week ago as he said they were booked until that day!). In the end, I have to drive back up there tomorrow because I did not have my box (they need it to replace my iPhone) and I have an appointment to swap out phones.

The lessons you can learn from my experience: