iphone voice recorder

Mike Overbo

TC / Phone Different
Aug 21, 2006
phonedifferent.com
new macs will probably be announced today at the apple press event (10am PST?). if you're looking for a cheap one, I've read rumors that they might discontinue the mac mini, so you may have to settle for a used/refurbished mini.

cmaier

Jun 29, 2007
Visit site
I'm goin' macbook pro, baby! 17" WUXGA, of course.

My only gripe is that their harddrive selection is pretty crummy.

Now I just need to decide whether or not to wait for leopard - in the mean time I can learn objective-c. (I'm an expert at c++, c, and most forms of assembler, but objective-c gives me the creeps!) I need to find an "objective-c for c++ programmers" book or something.

Mike Overbo

TC / Phone Different
Aug 21, 2006
phonedifferent.com
agreed on the hard drives. I've modded my g4 12" powerbook to take a much larger drive. ditto with the wife's mac mini. and ditto with my dad's powermac tower. seagate all the way, baby. I probably won't get to go intel until next year, so I've got to squeeze as much as I can out of my current gear.

apple usually does vouchers for software for people that bought hardware with older software very recently, but I don't recall their time limit for free upgrades to the new operating system. 14 days? 30 days? at any rate, rest assured that it will be $129.

cmaier

Jun 29, 2007
Visit site
I've replaced my windows laptop harddrive, but never owned a mac laptop - is the deal i can just swap the harddrive, throw an OS install cd-rom in, and let it do its thing? Or do i need to clone the existing drive to an external drive and then somehow copy it back?

Mike Overbo

TC / Phone Different
Aug 21, 2006
phonedifferent.com
it's pretty simple, just boot to dvd by holding down the 'c' key (or hold option to get the boot menu). osx will boot to pretty much any standard drive. it's a lot like installing windows except without all the driver hassle.