Is refurbished ok?

t_williams9476

Jan 12, 2011
Visit site
Here's my question: I am a college student, and I am planning on getting my mom an iPad 2 for Christmas this year. I have been planning all along to get a new 16GB one for $499, but I remembered yesterday about refurbished. My two major questions:

1.) If I purchase a refurbished one, will there be any noticeable differences in performance? I know that Apple's website says that all refurbished items are basically completely rebuilt, but I want to hear from people who have experience with refurbished products.

2.) Will there be any physical differences between a refurbished and a new iPad 2? Again, I want to hear from people with experience with refurbished devices.

Thanks y'all!

Alli

Apr 28, 2009
Visit site
Not only will there be no difference between new and refurb, depending on where you buy it, you can probably still get a SquareTrade warranty on a refurb.

t_williams9476

Jan 12, 2011
Visit site
I was actually planning on getting it at Best Buy because my school's bookstore sells Best Buy gift cards (among others), and I had some extra scholarship money, so I was going to go that route. What do you mean by SquareTrade warranty?

greasemuntney

Aug 24, 2011
Visit site
For the money the refurb is the way to go. Just as good as a new just cheaper. And most have almost the same warranty. To me $50. dollars saved is a good deal.

Ginbill

Sep 2, 2011
Visit site
I've gotten refurbished items from the apple store and I could not tell that they weren't brand spanking new! That is how I'd buy mine if I did not have one in the household already. I've had a macbook that was gifted to me by my uncle that was refurbished and it's been four years later and it is still working great!

Alli

Apr 28, 2009
Visit site

phreddyl

Feb 12, 2011
Visit site