New to Apple, and the iPad2

JDGAFFLIN

Oct 18, 2011
Visit site
So, like the thread title says, I'm new to the platform. Truth be told, Im a bit of an Android enthusiast. But I won this iPad 2 from the fine folks at Stitcher, so I figured I'd give it a shot and see what happens...

My initial thoughts are, what this thing is lacking in customization options, it more than makes up for by it's polish. It's smooth, man. Buttery almost in comparison to my Acer Iconia A100.

I'm not so sure on the forum factor, in terms of carrying it around. I like the 7" forum factor of the A100 when I'm out and about. But the hardware here is just stunning. Apple needs to make a 7" version. That would be terrific.

So, I'm gonna do some research on the site..( which seems great, thus far). If there's any must have apps, or you have any tips you can offer, please feel free.

Thanks!

applefanboi

May 31, 2011
Visit site
Learn the multi-touch gestures... I had my iPad 2 for almost two months and didn't know that I could use 4-5 fingers and move up to show the taskbar, or use 4-5 fingers to go left or right to switch through your apps.

richard_rsp

Apr 16, 2011
Visit site
And dont forget about pinching all fingers together to minimize an app! I Hardly ever use the home button anymore...

yeah, i'd def move up to iOS5. Tabbed browsing is nice, as well as iMessage can be useful. iMessage was a little bit difficult to set up (since I also have an iPhone - it was sending messages to both), but it is nice to not have to pick up the phone to send quick texts to other iPhone users. I haven't really figured out the benefit (to me) of iCloud (also iOS5) but it is nice to have OTA updates.

I was a big Palm guy (Pre, Pixi, Pre2) who had bought an original iPad when it went on clearance. I liked it so much, I am selling my Touchpad and original iPad to pay for my new iPad 2!

JDGAFFLIN

Oct 18, 2011
Visit site
I have both a Pre and a Pixi as well. webOS was just soooo fun to use.