Why iPad?

MattMJB0188

Mar 31, 2011
Visit site
I am interested in buying an iPad 2 and was wondering if I can get some SERIOUS input. No sarcastic replies please. I am a full time college student and currently own a 2010 MacBook Pro. I can see myself using the iPad in class or in between classes as its very light. My real question is, what do you people do on the iPad that differentiates it between a notebook and iPhone/iPod Touch. I will be getting the next gen iPhone whenever it comes out. Never owned an iOS device before. Played with them and love the feel to it. So can someone please enlighten me on what exactly you use your iPad for? Thanks

I had posted this on MacRumors but I have found their members to be extremely rude and arrogant. This website has a lot of very nice people. People who don't reply with a sarcastic comment.

Alli

Apr 28, 2009
Visit site
The question is not "what do you do on the iPad that differentiates it from a notebook," but "what do you do on a notebook that differentiates it from an iPad." The iPad is not a replacement for a computer.

For instance, as a college student, you may have the opportunity to take some of your classes online. While it seems as though the iPad is made for this, you can't upload the files through Blackboard, or whatever proprietary service your school uses, so you have to go back to a computer.

The iPad is awesome if you want something to surf, do email, read ebooks, and play games. I wouldn't even advise it for textbooks, since highlighting and margin notations are just not the same thing in an ebook.

MattMJB0188

Mar 31, 2011
Visit site
The question is not "what do you do on the iPad that differentiates it from a notebook," but "what do you do on a notebook that differentiates it from an iPad." The iPad is not a replacement for a computer.