Mute vs Orientation which side are you on?

Should the button on the iPad be mute or o-lock?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Ipheuria

Jul 21, 2009
Visit site
Ok so I've heard about this issue over and over. The iPad's switch that was previously orientation lock is now the mute switch thank god. However there seems to be a few people saying they rather have it as an orientation lock. The problem is their reason for this is I rather have it lock my orientation because it's so easy to mute the iPad by holding the volume button down. Well I find that a very egocentric statement because you're assuming that your choice is the choice. So let's have a friendly poll to see what is the actual winning choice? So which do you rather that switch be? Mute button or orientation lock?

MYNAMESALEX

Nov 28, 2010
Visit site
I have to say that at first I would have been on team orientation lock switch, but after listening to the last tipb podcast, I have to agree, as a student, I keep going from place to place where sound would be nicer and sound needs to be off, and the mute toggle does come in handy cause I can garuntee myself that it is in fact muted while it's sitting in my bag, by simply reaching down and feeling that the mute switch is flipped over.

alpha752

Nov 30, 2010
Visit site
I would prefer the orientation lock. Its so easy to mute with the down volume button. Plus, the hardware mute switch doesnt work on everything, until apps are updated it just works for apple sounds. You cant mute Pandora with it etc.

MYNAMESALEX

Nov 28, 2010
Visit site
I would prefer the orientation lock. Its so easy to mute with the down volume button. Plus, the hardware mute switch doesnt work on everything, until apps are updated it just works for apple sounds. You cant mute Pandora with it etc.