Anybody Ditch Their Laptop For The Ipad

patrickq

Nov 25, 2010
Visit site
I have a Macbook, a Vista desktop, an iPad and an iPhone - and I use one of these 4 devices almost every waking moment. I am an iPhone developer so ditching the Macbook is simply not an option but for a college students I would say it's unlikely that she will come across an app she absolutely must have that's not on the iPad so best wait till this need actually arises before possibly buying a laptop. However, for me the overriding reason to keep using a laptop is still the speed of typing: it may be just me but typing on the iPad still takes me 5-10 times more on the iPad when taking into account everything (not just typing): editing, cut-and-paste.

sicario666

Nov 27, 2010
Visit site
Same here... laptop is now on the backburner. Its too bad that the ipad can't do everything that a laptop can. I'm a CNC Machinist, so I do need an actual laptop for machine programming. Once I can run CAD/CAM programs on my ipad... my laptop turns into a paper weight

DXmeatclaws via tapatalk

amg

Jul 31, 2009
Visit site
Need my laptop for too much - but I'm taking the iPad by itself to more and more meetings (notetaking and having reference docs preloaded) - I'm also leaving the laptop behind occasionally when it can be plugged into a reliable network connection and I use logmein to access it from the iPad.

Nowhere near a laptop replacement for me.. yet... but it's become an indispensable companion!

MYNAMESALEX

Nov 28, 2010
Visit site
Instead of buying a laptop for school (college), I got myself an iPad!
I thoroughly researched the decision, and decided I would prefer it. Does doc editing, great ebook reader, and SO thin!
Not to mention the games and everything else on it! iPad is awesome, glad I got one :D

patricksmangan

Nov 26, 2010
Visit site