iPad or MacBook air

lawls

Sep 3, 2010
Visit site
So my 2008 MacBook is on its last days, and I'm in the market for a new computer. At first I decided on the refreshed MacBook Air, but the price with configurations is pretty steep.*

My other option is getting an iMac or a Mac mini and display along with an iPad 3 for stuff on the go. I'm a university student and I need something portable but I can't just have an iPad. what do you recommend?*

Fausty82

Jun 23, 2010
Visit site
I can't imagine that the combination of an iMac and an iPad would be significantly cheaper than the MBA that you have picked out...

And IMHO, a single device as portable as a MBA would be hard to beat. It's fast, light and pretty powerful. If you really need more storage than you can afford, I'd suggest a small external USB drive.

But we should probably talk about your NEEDS before trying to answer your question...

What will you be using these devices for? Writing papers? Taking notes? Reading e-books/pdf files?

What specific function do you see yourself accomplishing with a MBA? What about an iPad? And an iMac?

For you and your needs. where does the functionality of these devices intersect?

What's your budget? What can you comfortably afford to spend on this (these) device(s)?

After you analyze your needs, you may see some clear cut choices falling out of that.

And FWIW, I still see the iPad as a data consumption device rather than a data creation device. Both the iMac and the MBA are well suited to both creation and consumption...

Good luck with your decision... and don't forget to take advantage of any educational discount... Apple is good about that...

Reactions: lawls

CG68

Jul 12, 2011
Visit site
Also check out Apple's refurb site. They have some great deals there on earlier models which will help you save some money instead of paying full price on the latest laptop/computer.

Laura Knotek

Jun 15, 2012
Visit site