Here's my question: I am a college student, and I am planning on getting my mom an iPad 2 for Christmas this year. I have been planning all along to get a new 16GB one for $499, but I remembered yesterday about refurbished. My two major questions:

1.) If I purchase a refurbished one, will there be any noticeable differences in performance? I know that Apple's website says that all refurbished items are basically completely rebuilt, but I want to hear from people who have experience with refurbished products.

2.) Will there be any physical differences between a refurbished and a new iPad 2? Again, I want to hear from people with experience with refurbished devices.

Thanks y'all!
    11-26-2011 08:38 AM
    Not only will there be no difference between new and refurb, depending on where you buy it, you can probably still get a SquareTrade warranty on a refurb.
    11-26-2011 09:20 AM
    I was actually planning on getting it at Best Buy because my school's bookstore sells Best Buy gift cards (among others), and I had some extra scholarship money, so I was going to go that route. What do you mean by SquareTrade warranty?
    11-26-2011 12:30 PM
    For the money the refurb is the way to go. Just as good as a new just cheaper. And most have almost the same warranty. To me $50. dollars saved is a good deal.
    11-26-2011 12:33 PM
    I just bought a refurbished iPad 2 a couple weeks ago. Looks brand new to me and works perfectly!
    11-27-2011 04:14 PM
    I've gotten refurbished items from the apple store and I could not tell that they weren't brand spanking new! That is how I'd buy mine if I did not have one in the household already. I've had a macbook that was gifted to me by my uncle that was refurbished and it's been four years later and it is still working great!
    11-27-2011 04:41 PM