As the title says, I'm new to Apple........last Apple I had was an Apple IIsi. I'm planning on getting an iPad 2 (and ditching my BB Tour eventually for an iPhone 4S) and I was wondering what (if anything) does iOS 5 bring to the iPad 2 that it couldn't do before? Sorry if this has been hashed and rehashed I just couldn't really find any clear cut explanation for the iPad specifically.

Thanks in Advance.
    10-05-2011 12:43 AM
    Never newb questions.

Well, the differences as I know them are-

iPad First ------ iPad2 Second

CPU - 1GHz Apple A4 vs 1GHz dual-core Apple A5
    GPU - PowerVR SGX435 vs 543MP2
    Rear Camera - None vs Yes
    Front Camera - None vs Yes
    Gyroscope - None vs Yes
    Thickness - 13mm vs 9mm
    Weight Heavier vs Lighter

Hope that helps a bit.
    10-05-2011 02:03 AM
    i think the question was in regards to iOS 5 not iPad vs ipad2. i haven't read everything on iOS 5 and haven't gotten to use it iCloud is one main differance twitter integration is another i think but they say iOS 5 has over 200 improvments
    10-06-2011 03:22 PM
    I got that the iPad 2 is better than one......but its the "fiddley bits" like that as far as I can tell there is no Siri for the iPad2.....is there other differences? Is there any interface changes or the iPad or is it the outlying stuff and internal changes. Like I also haven't seen any thing on battery life other than "it should be better". Trust me when I'm saying that I am getting an iPad 2 and shortlyt thereafter hopefully an iPhone 4S....I'm just curious about some small things as it pertains to the iPad 2
    10-06-2011 03:44 PM
    Basically, just go to the iOS 5 website and read up on it! There are over 200 features being added top few are Newsstand, Notification Center, and reminders.

AirPlay is supposed to be getting an overhaul as well, allowing you to mirror your iPad's screen through your apple tv, and that's one thing I am looking forward to when playing games on my iPad with friends!