Advantages of iOS 5 on the iPad?

Keymaster654

Oct 5, 2011
Visit site
As the title says, I'm new to Apple........last Apple I had was an Apple IIsi. I'm planning on getting an iPad 2 (and ditching my BB Tour eventually for an iPhone 4S) and I was wondering what (if anything) does iOS 5 bring to the iPad 2 that it couldn't do before? Sorry if this has been hashed and rehashed I just couldn't really find any clear cut explanation for the iPad specifically.

Thanks in Advance.

END

Sep 22, 2011
Visit site
Never newb questions.

Well, the differences as I know them are-

iPad First ------ iPad2 Second

CPU - 1GHz Apple A4 vs 1GHz dual-core Apple A5
GPU - PowerVR SGX435 vs 543MP2
Rear Camera - None vs Yes
Front Camera - None vs Yes
Gyroscope - None vs Yes
Thickness - 13mm vs 9mm
Weight Heavier vs Lighter

Hope that helps a bit.
:)

Oct 6, 2011
Visit site
i think the question was in regards to iOS 5 not iPad vs ipad2. i haven't read everything on iOS 5 and haven't gotten to use it iCloud is one main differance twitter integration is another i think but they say iOS 5 has over 200 improvments

Keymaster654

Oct 5, 2011
Visit site
I got that the iPad 2 is better than one......but its the "fiddley bits" like that as far as I can tell there is no Siri for the iPad2.....is there other differences? Is there any interface changes or the iPad or is it the outlying stuff and internal changes. Like I also haven't seen any thing on battery life other than "it should be better". Trust me when I'm saying that I am getting an iPad 2 and shortlyt thereafter hopefully an iPhone 4S....I'm just curious about some small things as it pertains to the iPad 2

applefanboi

May 31, 2011
Visit site
Basically, just go to the iOS 5 website and read up on it! There are over 200 features being added top few are Newsstand, Notification Center, and reminders.