I'm in the Market For an iPad ; Need Opinions from Exisiting Owners

OmariJames

May 31, 2009
Visit site
Hey guys, thanks in advance for your responses.

After considering other alternatives, the iPad seems to be the best option for me. However I need help deciding which iPad to choose based on my budget, needs and lifestyle.

A little bit about me:
I'm a college student majoring in Electrical Engineering. Two of my core courses, Chemistry and Physics require a lot of writing in terms of lab reports. I will also be taking some elective literature and language courses. I love music and movies therefore I have a lot of it ! Currently I store 24GB+/- and 20GB+/- respectively.

My Budget:
I'm a full time student and financially independent. I purchased my iMac 2008 (, 32GB iPhone 3G) and 32GB 3GS on my own. Unfortunately my budget this time around is maximum $600 but if it's truly worth it I'll go up to $700. I'm upgrading my 3GS this year so my budget is even tighter and if I have to I'll consider the first Gen iPad.

My main purposes for the iPad would primarily be writing reports and secondly watching movies. However, as aforementioned I have up to 45GB of media not to mention the existing 161 applications and future ones I'll download later. I'm definitely able to make sacrifices in terms of the media I sync to the device as I already do this with the movies I choose to sync to my iPhone.

Here are example questions that I'd like to see answered by you guys who currently own an iPad:

- How much effort do you put into carrying your iPad around , is it like carrying a small netbook or laptop ? Do I need a separate carrying bag ?

- What's your experiences creating, typing, editing long papers in Page or any document app on the go and at home ?

- Do you own an WiFi or WiFi + 3G version ? Do you tether you WiFi version ?

- Is the amount of Flash you currently have sufficient ?