So now with the Smart Cover will you still need a full case? I've not had ipad 1 so I'm totally new to the accessory side of things. I've seen some covers, like daytimer covers for your ipad. Just wondered if the Smart Cover will be all you need.
    03-15-2011 05:54 PM
    Hi jmgilliam: I guess it depends upon how much of a Butterfingers you are and WHERE you plan on using it. Now, I don't have an iPad (yet) but, I've had a Sony E-Reader for 4 years. It came with a flip open case similar to the Smart Cover. I traveled throughout Europe with it last year, and all over the U.S. since owning it. After 4 years of intense use, there's not a scratch on either the cover or the Reader, but then I've NEVER dropped it, read in the tub (oops!) or put myself in some crazy situation. Because of the smaller footprint of the Reader (7"), it's easy enough to drop into any normal sized backpack or purse, so that further helped it stay pristine.

I'd say, use your iPad to write up a "Typical Day in the Life of _____" and see how brutal, or not, you'd be with it; that should clue you in! Word of note: My Daughter goes to school at the Art Institute of Chicago. She told me last week that NO ONE is pulling out their iPads any longer, in public, because of the extreme theft problem going on. One girl was knocked down, last week, and the guy ran away with a lime-green jacket on himself; was so sure of not getting caught, he could be blatant about it! So, all the students are ONLY using their iPads inside the campus, now, not on Michigan Ave. or at El stops. Sucks but they're pretty popular and easy to grab right out of your hand.
    03-15-2011 06:19 PM
    Targus has a nice case for the iPad 2. It's the Targus 360 degree swivel case. I can't post the link as I am new here. It's available on Amazon, and I should be getting mine at the house this time next week. Check it out.
    03-15-2011 08:23 PM