Shortcuts App (share and help)

Trees

Dec 26, 2012
Visit site
Add me to the list for those who have not used Shortcuts. I understand the concept and potential benefits having used Tasker, AutomateIT, and Llama on Android. Glad that the app is available, though. At this time perhaps my daily routine is simple enough that I've yet to feel the need to use or create a Shortcut.

This is a good thread, and appreciate those who are posting ideas. Maybe I'll see something that sparks my interest at some point.

linear2202

May 15, 2016
Visit site
I'm no huge expert at this, but...

Do an action "Get Current Location"
Follow up with "Show in Maps", and choose "Google Maps" as the Maps app. (It did ask to confirm that I wanted to open Google Maps the first time that I ran the shortcut. After that, it seemed to open Google Maps. Not sure if it would be different with Apple Maps.)

There is a search box for all of the actions, so you should be able to search, but they are under the "Scripting" section when I search for them.

I got this working. Thank you. Took me awhile to get the output of the temperature conversion to display, but eventually got it.

Trees

Dec 26, 2012
Visit site
A shortcut to turn Wi-Fi off completely so that every time i try to use Safari or Mail for example, the connect to WiFi popup does not appear.

Go to Settings
Go to Wi-Fi
Toggle Wi-Fi to Off

I imagine the above high level logic could be mixed in with other Shortcuts like "Leave Home", or "Arrive Home" where I do want Wi-Fi set to On.

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
I played around with it when it was called Workflow, but ended up deleting the app because it didn’t become part of my normal usage routine. After seeing this thread, I’ll give it another go and see how things progress.

doogald

Trusted Member
Oct 23, 2012
Visit site