New to iOS

rsidhaarth

Oct 2, 2017
Visit site
Hi All,

I am new to IOS. Moved from Windows Phone. I want to confirm certain things which most of my iPhone friends says "No, we don't have"

1) Do smart dial available on iPhone?
2) How to turn of notification sound when hearing songs or watching movies?
3) Mobile data won't work during phone calls?
4) True caller not showing name on the screen when someone calls.
5) No torrents to download files?
6) Any adblocker which can block all ads without VPN?
7) Best keyboard for iPhone
8) How to clear all notification on the badges?

I had all the options on my previous phone. I am on iPhone 8 Plus.

metllicamilitia

Ambassador
Dec 25, 2011
Visit site
Hi All,

I am new to IOS. Moved from Windows Phone. I want to confirm certain things which most of my iPhone friends says "No, we don't have"

I think I know what you’re asking, let me see here,

1. I’m not sure what you mean by smart dial, if that’s like speed dial, there really isn’t any on iOS, but Siri can call anyone in your contacts list.
2. I don’t know about muting notifications with music, but when watching movies the sound won’t play but you’ll get the notification pop ups. (Edit: that is with the mute switch flipped to vibrate).
3. Data and calling is pretty standard since LTE, you can use data while on a call.
4. iOS only shows the phone number unless you have the number saved.
5. Apple is highly against pirating and torrents and I don’t do it myself so I can’t help here.
6. I use 1Blocker with great success.
7. Best keyboard is subjective though people like SwiftKey and GBoard, but I prefer the stock keyboard.
8. Notification badges only clear by going into the apps themselves unfortunately, at least I haven’t found any other way and haven’t heard of one.

Hopefully this helps and hopefully someone else can answer what I couldn’t. Welcome to iOS!

Last edited:

doogald

Trusted Member
Oct 23, 2012
Visit site