I am not a dev. Why can't I complain?

Status
Not open for further replies.

abazigal

May 9, 2013
Visit site
I personally find the whole notion that only 'legitimate developers' have the right to report bugs so arrogant and elitist, and completely overlooking the forest for the trees.

I believe we are all busy people with better things to do than just whine endlessly. We post our experiences here not for attention, but because we are passionate about the Apple products we use, because we expect to eventually update to them one way or another, and most importantly, because we care enough to want this to be a success. So what if I am not a developer? How does it make my experiences with the beta any less legitimate, truthful or insightful?

Maybe the tone could be a little better and less 'whiny', but I am of the opinion that there is no smoke without fire. When people do complain, it is likely because they are really experiencing some issues with IOS7 beta, issues which warrant a closer investigation, or at least, clarification. Rather than just brushing us away rudely and trivalising our feedback as ignorant prattling. If nobody is allowed to complain despite there clearly being bugs in a beta, then what is the point of releasing a beta in the first place?

All these constitute invaluable feedback nonetheless, and what the developers can and ought to be doing, in my opinion, is to act on these feedback. Test them out and ascertain for certain whether these truly are bugs, and if so, get back to us and Apple as to what can be done about them. Not to bark back at the very same people who are no less invested in wanting IOS7 to succeed, technical expertise or no.

BLiNK

Oct 7, 2009
Visit site
the way i understand it anyone who legitimately buys into the developer program ($99) is not even supposed to discuss anything iOS beta related on public forums - just on the Apple site. that's a good measuring stick for anyone curious

Apple made the rules not anyone here