Help with custom vibrations

templetonryecy

Jun 7, 2011
Visit site
iPhone/iOS noob here...

Coming from Android, one of the features I was excited Apple added was custom vibrations. I am however struggling to get them to work on my new iPhone 4S.

• I have Custom Vibrations Enabled (On) in Accessibility Options.
  • I have created a Custom Vibration in Sounds
  • I have set my 'Vibration' in Sounds to be the Custom Vibration.
  • When I get a text message or email or notification from ANYONE, I am still get the standard Apple mono vibrate. It is very short and very weak.
  • I've even attempted to edit contacts individually. Of course when I go to edit a contact and change their Default Vibration to my Custom Vibration, the vibration is already set to my Custom Vibration because that is what I have set to Default anyway. Even if I set it again for individual contacts, I am still getting the standard mono vibration when I get texts, emails, or notifications.

1. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong? I have verified that Custom Vibrations are enabled and I have the default Vibration set as the Custom Vibration...but no matter what, the only Vibrate that ever happens is the single mono default Apple vibrate.

2. I have read on other forums that the custom vibration only applies to phone calls. Well, I don't get phone calls very often, I usually just get texts or emails. If this feature doesn't apply to texts or emails, I will be very disappointed. Can anyone confirm if they are getting the custom vibration to work for text/emails/notifications?

3. Bonus question :) I'm finding out that iOS doesn't allow a specific vibration pattern for the type of notification either (example: short bursts for texts and long bursts for emails - very useful when phone is in pocket during a meeting or while driving, nice to know whether you've received a text or email). This is frustrating. Does anyone know if this is available via jailbreak?