Update Still Won't Work :(

IMABigGeek

Oct 12, 2011
Visit site
add #127.0.0.1 gs.apple.com to bottom if not there. (all done as administrator) restart itunes. and comp. if doesnt work. then update phone. previous message was for downgrading. sorry

Please DON'T ANYONE try this. 127.0.0.1 is for your localhost address on your computer. This is telling your computer to always look locally when your computer is looking to go to "gs.apple.com. The person that posted this is nothing but a malicious a$$hole to tell people to do this. I am a Network Engineer and have been in the field for over 20 years.

Reactions: Jmeg8r

acueducto

Oct 12, 2011
Visit site
After I changed the cable the update process started, kind of finish and now I'm having a different type of error: unknown error-48, phone is restoring as I type this. Has anyone got this other message? Maybe the error is part of the process? I guess yes. Can anyone confirm?

Last edited:

joeblow123321

Oct 12, 2011
Visit site
avoiding the backup?

I re-ask what other have already asked: is there any way to avoid the whole "backing up the software part?" It seems insane that we'd have to go through a 30 minute process each time only to be tripped up at the last second by this server thing; you'd think we could just keep clicking some kind of "refresh" button at this point.

esquisite

Oct 12, 2011
Visit site
wait 3/4 days... a few hours/tomorrow it will be fine... i almost got it and it decided to error me and kicked my phone into recovery arghh lol

drarif

Sep 27, 2011
Visit site