Total Newb Question regarding VZ Iphone 4 and IOS updates......Need help Please!

Johnny-5

Feb 12, 2011
Visit site
If you're trying to go to 4.2.8, this is your issue: you don't have SHSH saved for that firmware, so you will not be able to load it. So then, your only option is load 4.2.10. Since this is the latest firmware, you can do it normally through iTunes; just make sure that before you open iTunes you go into Tiny Umbrella's advanced options and uncheck the box that says something like "set hosts to Cydia on exit". After that, open iTunes, connect your phone, and update to 4.2.10.

(And bear in mind, iOS 5 is right around the corner. You're probably going to want to update again in a week or so.)

Ok so Im downloading the latest firmware so lets see what happens. So now that Im upgrading this 4.2.10 how do I get it jailbreaked as I hear anything over 4.2.8 is not possible? Does that mean Ill have a regular IOS on it till there is a crack for it?

Massie

Feb 9, 2010
Visit site
You'll have 4.2.10, but you should be able to update to iOS5 and jb that pretty soon.
(And if you want, you should be able to have a workable tethered jb on 4.2.10 with redsn0w. See here.)

Update #7: Apple updated the iPad1 iOS5b6 IPSW without changing its version number or filename, so we?re releasing redsn0w 0.9.8b7 to handle both the original and changed IPSW. We?ve also added explicit support for a tethered 4.3.5/4.2.10 jailbreak (instead of pointing at the 4.3.4/4.2.9 IPSWs) and fixed a 4.2.10 problem.

Update #7b: About 12 hours after we released redsn0w 0.9.8b7 with some improvements for iOS5b6, Apple went and released iOS5b7 (what are the odds of that?!?). Even though that redsn0w could still jailbreak iOS5b7, you needed to point it at the iOS5b6 IPSW to do so. Today?s redsn0w 0.9.8b7b lets you point redsn0w directly at the iOS5b7 IPSW instead.