A few basic jailbreak questions.

G323q569

Jan 19, 2011
Visit site
Ok, these might be stupid questions but I am new to Jailbreaking.

If I jailbreak my VZW iPhone will/should I plug my phone back into iTunes later on in life? Or will it mess it up?

The whole thing about blobs and what not kind of confuses me and I haven't really been able to figure them out. So what are they, and what do I need to do with them?

What happens when an update does come out from Apple for the iPhone? What do I need to do/what do I need to not do?

I am sorry if these are stupid or don't make sense, some of this just confuses me.

Last edited by a moderator:

Laelipoo

Aug 11, 2010
Visit site
Yes, you can sync a jailbroken iPhone to iTunes.

The SHSH blobs are what allow you to downgrade to a jailbreakable os. They count as a signature from apple on your firmware. You should save them every time a new OS comes out, so you can downgrade if you want to.

I personally wait to upgrade until the OS is jailbreakable. You can pry biteSMS out of my dead hands.

petsnspace

Nov 13, 2009
Visit site
I had some similar questions and let me see if I can help. I have had my iPhone for awhile, but am new to JB.

After the JB, simply plug your iPhone in as you normally would. The Cydia (JB) apps will not back-up into iTunes, but everything else backs-up as normal.

Don't worry about blobs and SSH, the greenpois0n JB doesn't need them.

When an update comes out from apple...don't update until a new JB is available, otherwise you will lose all your JB apps.

Hope that helps.

G323q569

Jan 19, 2011
Visit site
Ok, So I think I get it for the most part, when Apple releases a knew system update or os I shouldn't update my phone until Greenpoison has released an updated version of their Jailbreaking utility?

Also, if I ever want to get rid of Jailbreaking on my phone i'll just restore it back to a previously saved version from iTunes correct?

Ipheuria

Jul 21, 2009
Visit site