Official Updating to iOS 4 from Jailbreak help thread

micky_rooney

Aug 31, 2009
Visit site
Hi all,

Yesterday I had an issue with a JB'n iphone 3gs running on 3.1.3 via sprint and (Each time I clicked the home button to come out of apps it always went to my lockscreen and then never went off that screen - only autolock could prevent this but it was more or less a gonner). I searched around to see if I could solve it (Tried DFU mode, Reboot etc - Still the issue was there). In all honestly I'm quite new to JB so I did more research regarding how to back up Cydia apps and what knot so it would save time to re-JB if I choose to do so and the relevent steps to follow. First of all I performed a backup in itunes, then installed aptbackup (Clicked app - choose backup option --> followed by the itunes step backup again i think). At this stage I'm thinking i'm more or less set, backed up my cydia apps (I'm hoping, backup iphone beforehand anyway), now to update to firmware ios 4 and solve my buggy iphone altogether. I went ahead and downloaded 9.2 first-> and installed ios 4 afterwards..

Outcome: After the firmware successfully installed I have some apps that are still available from my JB days (Just yesterday), I thought I would lose my apps that I got during the JB'n days (Refering to apps from installous rather than anywhere else).

1) What are my next best steps to follow guys? I miss the SB Settings etc. Will I need to wait for a new JB available with ios 4?

2) Also I didn't click restore in itunes after the firmware installed I simply unplugged it, should I have done for whatever reason?

If anyone can help with that, much appreciated

Foo

Jul 7, 2010
Visit site
Hi
I am new here. I was searching online on how to get the latest OS4 on a jailbroken iphone and found a TON of info. I want to be safe so hopefully you guys can help me out.

Stats:
Iphone 3Gs
version 3.0.1 (7A400)
Itune version 8.1.2.6
Jailbroken with redsn0w a long time ago.