downgrade from 3.1.3 to 3.1.2

iquinn

Jul 4, 2009
Visit site
Why would you want to do that? And unless you restore from a backup you had before the update there is no way that I know of to do that.

en0c

Dec 29, 2009
Visit site
@DataCentre
Have you tried it yourself with a 3GS? AFAIK it's only possible when you've stored the ECID SHSH-file...

SoonerSpidey

Jan 25, 2010
Visit site
I know I'm a newbie so bear with me on the stupidity comments. I downloaded the 3.1.2 firmware, installed redsn0w started going through the process on iTunes and when it was confirming the downgrade w/ Apple it came back and said the downgrade was not authorized by Apple and wouldn't do it. Left me @ 3.1.3. My questions are for what reason did that happen and is Apple really that controlling? Thanks for all the help guys. Just waiting for the jb to 3.1.3 to come out now.

big9erfan

Jun 2, 2009
Visit site
I know I'm a newbie so bear with me on the stupidity comments. I downloaded the 3.1.2 firmware, installed redsn0w started going through the process on iTunes and when it was confirming the downgrade w/ Apple it came back and said the downgrade was not authorized by Apple and wouldn't do it. Left me @ 3.1.3. My questions are for what reason did that happen and is Apple really that controlling? Thanks for all the help guys. Just waiting for the jb to 3.1.3 to come out now.

Yes, Apple stopped signing the 3.1.2 firmware so that people cannot install that anymore without having their SHSH backed up on the Cydia servers. Was your iPhone jailbroken before?

SoonerSpidey

Jan 25, 2010
Visit site
No it wasn't jb before. It's my understanding it can't be until they find a jb for 3.1.3, corect? Thanks for the help. Man, Apple really sucks. No wonder so many people jb and unlock their phones.

big9erfan

Jun 2, 2009
Visit site
Correct, you cannot jailbreak until a new jailbreak supporting 3.1.3 comes out ( though don't hold your breath ).