Photo management on iPhone, a I missing something?

Dec 16, 2015
Visit site
Photo management on iPhone

I'm new to iPhone after a decade on Windows Mobile and struggling with photo management. I can't possibly believe Apple would have made this so difficult so I must be missing something.

So, I take photos with my phone. They get stored on the phone and my iCloud account. Phone fills up. I import photos from my phone to my PC. Seems easy enough.

Nope! You can't delete photos on the phone using the PC because you don't have permissions (supposedly because iCloud). And if you delete the photos using the phone they delete from iCloud?

What am I missing here? Your options are to either not use iCloud so you can remove them from your phone via PC or only have the pictures there that are actually on your phone?

Last edited:

scruffypig

Feb 16, 2014
Visit site
Re: Photo management on iPhone

I'm new to iPhone after a decade on Windows Mobile and struggling with photo management. I can't possibly believe Apple would have made this so difficult so I must be missing something.

So, I take photos with my phone. They get stored on the phone and my iCloud account. Phone fills up. I import photos from my phone to my PC. Seems easy enough.

Nope! You can't delete photos on the phone using the PC because you don't have permissions (supposedly because iCloud). And if you delete the photos using the phone they delete from iCloud?

What am I missing here? Your options are to either not use iCloud so you can remove them from your phone via PC or only have the pictures there that are actually on your phone?

Are you using Windows as your desktop PC? With OS X, I use the default Image Capture program to manage my photos. There is a little check box "Delete after import".

Beards

Dec 8, 2015
Visit site

It sounds like you do not have your iPhone set up correctly.
Go to Settings/Photos & Camera and switch on the tab for iCloud Photo Library.