Horrible cropping bug in IOS9 for none-iPhone camera pictures

crwoo

Mar 8, 2011
Visit site
I am a pro photographer and any picture I take with any other camera than my iPhone are being displayed as cropped in full screen mode. Lets say I have a landscape photo and will view holding my phone in landscape, the picture will show up cropped to fit height. that is really annoying and the only way to view the full contents of the picture is to double tap to zoom in to 100% and double tap to zoom back out...WITH EVERY PICTURE.
I have reported this bug to apple during the beta, but they have't fixed it. I can't use the photo app this way and I am hoping this gets addressed quickly or I will be forced to a competitor's phone for my job.

mikeo007

Aug 11, 2012
Visit site
Looks like it's intended behaviour. Makes better use of the screen. You could also do a quick pinch zoom-in then out and it displays full size, same as the double tap method you mentioned but with less effort.

Still, you'll probably be best to find an app designed for viewing non-iPhone photos since it's pretty clear that Apple has optimized their own apps for their own hardware.

crwoo

Mar 8, 2011
Visit site
who wants to look at a cropped picture? the iphone pictures are shown uncropped with some black on top and bottom, why cant the camera pictures show like that? it's a very annoying bug.

mikeo007

Aug 11, 2012
Visit site
Since it displays iPhone photos normally, it must be a metadata thing. There might be a simple way to have other photos display with the black bars by default, but I'm not sure what.

Dan_85

Sep 17, 2015
Visit site
Experiencing exactly the same problem here.