Is there a way to just have iCloud backup my photos?

tmay6737

Nov 12, 2014
Visit site
I am new to the ios system. I currently have an ipad (which I love) and am thinking of getting the iphone 6 now. My question is, is there a way to just have this icloud, i cloud drive, or whatever I have, to just back up my photos. I want to be able to take vacation pics and etc and have them uploaded to the cloud. I also, on occasion, get some sexy pictures from my wife that i want to save as well, but also not have them automatically post to facebook, or people to see them. I guess I am more concerned about preventing access. Just looking for a simple way to keep pictures I take, save etc, to the cloud. And access them from my ipad or iphone to show, post whenever I want.
Hope this makes sense

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
If you enable "photostream" on your iPhone and iPad with the same Apple/iCloud ID, then any photo you take on one will be visible on the other. Those photos will remain on Apple's servers for a specified timeframe. Now in regard to backups, the process backs up all that is is designed to backup. With that in mind, only photos that are in your Camera roll will be backed up. Photos that are in your Photostream will already be stored via iCloud and thus, will not be included via the backup process.

Here’s what iCloud backs up:

• Purchase history for music, movies, TV shows, apps, and books