View Poll Results: restore or start new

Voters
13. You may not vote on this poll
  • restore from backup

    7 53.85%
  • start as new

    6 46.15%
  1. Garyx24's Avatar
    Just curious but what do you people plan to do when you upgrade to IOS 7. Restore from your IOS 6 backup or start brand new fresh? I think I'm going to restore from IOS 6 backup cuz im lazy and want to keep all my current text pics etc but if I see battery life is gonna take a toll I'll probably setup as new.
    09-13-2013 06:14 PM
  2. Just_Me_D's Avatar
    I'll initially restore from a backup, but after a few days, I know I'll restore as new. It's just what I do.
    09-13-2013 08:05 PM
  3. Jaguarr40's Avatar
    Hmmm seems like i asked this same question to a friend of mine on here there other day and was given the same advice and not be fearful of doing so and that is what I am going to do. I hope I remembered to thank him.
    09-16-2013 12:27 PM
  4. qbnkelt's Avatar
    Restoring from backup. Always do. Apple has never let me down.
    09-18-2013 08:38 AM
  5. SprSynJn's Avatar
    Do you lose pictures on the camera roll if its restored as new? If so, I'll be doing it from a backup.
    09-18-2013 09:35 AM
  6. brad4560's Avatar
    was thinking bout this yesterday. only got about 15 apps on my mini, and pictures. might do a reset and start fresh!
    09-18-2013 09:52 AM
  7. SnapThrow's Avatar
    Do you lose pictures on the camera roll if its restored as new? If so, I'll be doing it from a backup.
    Yes -- restoring "as new" is essentially like picking up a new iPhone at the store. It will be factory default. You can then sync back all your apps and some of your data, but the camera roll and text/iMessage history will be gone for good.
    Just_Me_D and SprSynJn like this.
    09-18-2013 10:13 AM
  8. Fausty82's Avatar
    Yes -- restoring "as new" is essentially like picking up a new iPhone at the store. It will be factory default. You can then sync back all your apps and some of your data, but the camera roll and text/iMessage history will be gone for good.
    If you are using PhotoStream, you will get back the last 1000 photos from the past 30 days... but anything older than 30 days or beyond the last 1000 photos will not be synched back to your phone. And they will appear in your PhotoStream, not in your camera roll. They will also continue to live on any other device that is connected to your PhotoStream.
    09-18-2013 10:25 AM

Similar Threads

  1. iPhone 5S Naked or in a case?
    By Ipheuria in forum iPhone 5s
    Replies: 457
    Last Post: 09-10-2015, 11:42 PM
  2. Better to order from Apple or Verizon?
    By AirHej1 in forum iPhone 5s
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 09-17-2013, 10:23 AM
  3. Ios maps or waze.
    By enots27 in forum iPhone Apps & Games
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-15-2013, 10:58 AM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD