1. nokin's Avatar
    What happens to the old version of ios after an update? Does it stay on the phone or is it deleted?
    03-24-2012 11:05 PM
  2. big9erfan's Avatar
    What happens to the old version of ios after an update? Does it stay on the phone or is it deleted?
    It's completely erased...you're left with only the new version and for the most part you cannot downgrade.
    nokin likes this.
    03-25-2012 01:33 AM
  3. itsalexaye's Avatar
    it's gone forever, and usually you cannot downgrade back to that version
    03-25-2012 10:24 AM
  4. nokin's Avatar
    Thanks for the reply. Could you explain usually
    03-25-2012 04:30 PM
  5. sherlock's Avatar
    Thanks for the reply. Could you explain usually
    The usually part means -

    Unless a hacker finds an exploit that allows you to load a custom (previous) firmware and authenticate it by using your saved SHSH blobs (if you saved them).

    It looks like there will be a work around for downgrading from iOS5.1 back to 5.0.1 at some point.
    03-25-2012 06:09 PM
  6. Optic Dev's Avatar
    What happens to the old version of ios after an update? Does it stay on the phone or is it deleted?
    It is replaced with the newer firmware
    03-27-2012 01:18 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD