STILL can't update iOS 5 ! help!!!

jobosumm

May 3, 2011
Visit site
i started trying this update at 1:20pm yesterday... and after `10 1/2 hrs gave up and went to sleep. back at it this morning.... click update in iTunes, it backs up iPhone.....then extracting software.... then a pop up says "IPHONE SOFTWARE UPDATE SERVER COULD NOT BE CONTACTED OR IS TEMP UNAVAIL. PLEASE TRY AGAIN LATER"

I have unplugged, replugged, reset, restarted, you name it... and get the same thing EVERY time. I choose update, restore, back up, no back up..... SAME THING....

then someone in here finally offered something i thought i could handle (newbie here, and not very computer savvy) i searched google for the download link and directly downloaded iOS 5. then i opened iTunes.... held down the "option"key on my keyboard while clicking restore.. the box opened up and i choose the new ios5 that i just downloaded........ went through all the same extracting software.....AND THEN I GOT THE SAME MESSAGE AS ABOVE....

OMG.. WTH????? how can this be???? should i delta iTunes from the computer and reinstall it??? (it took an hour yesterday to update the computer with the new version of iTunes)...... ugggg...

do i call APPLE?? I've searched this forum over and over and everything i find is either too technical that i don't understand... or the answer is "just wait" ..... can anyone offer a suggestion.. or a gun? ;)

thanks in advance for any help. :confused:

mrkiddman

Oct 13, 2011
Visit site
Possible solution