1. BreakingKayfabe's Avatar
    I did a search and didn't see anyone bring this up.

    When I create a photo album on the phone and move pics from the camera roll to the album, it's not a problem. But when I want to delete those photos off the camera roll since i copied them into the album, the phone wants to delete the photo from both locations. I also created albums of my previously synced photo albums from iTunes. When i removed the synced albums, my newly created albums are now empty. Is this how the photo app is designed to work? I wouldn't want a mess of a camera roll and I don't want to have to keep my iTunes synced albums on there. Am I missing something?
    10-11-2011 01:44 PM
  2. E_Brown's Avatar
    I was wondering the same thing. I would like it if I could move it to the new album, and delete if from the camera roll. Hopefully this will get fixed with an update.
    10-11-2011 02:09 PM
  3. BreakingKayfabe's Avatar
    It's annoying to say the least. Almost defeats the purpose of creating albums to be better organized.
    10-11-2011 02:42 PM
  4. Massie's Avatar
    I think the albums you create don't actually have a copy of the picture, it's just a way of organizing your photo libraryso really they are never moved out of the camera roll, you're just creating subsets of the whole library. Those new thumbnails still lead back to the original picture. Similar idea: when you add a contact to your phone's Favorites, it doesn't create a second contact file. It's just an easier way of sorting the whole.

    (I think.)
    Last edited by Massie; 10-11-2011 at 02:47 PM.
    10-11-2011 02:45 PM
  5. BreakingKayfabe's Avatar
    I think the albums you create don't actually have a copy of the picture, it's just a way of organizing your photo libraryso really they are never moved out of the camera roll, you're just creating subsets of the whole library. Those new thumbnails still lead back to the original picture. Similar idea: when you add a contact to your phone's Favorites, it doesn't create a second contact file. It's just an easier way of sorting the whole.

    (I think.)
    Yeah. I think what my idea was that it was actually moving the pic to an album. Or at the very least creating a copy.
    10-11-2011 03:04 PM
  6. Massie's Avatar
    Personally, I'd prefer it your wayI just want to move the dang thing. I'm guessing it was done this way so people wouldn't mistakenly keep two copies, using twice the storage. Though I don't see why just moving the file completely isn't offered as an option.
    10-11-2011 03:11 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD
We have updated our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions. Please check them out.