iOS 5 Beta 8 Drops This Friday, Final Gold Master Version Next Week

Timhewitt

Sep 17, 2011
Visit site
There really has to be a beta 8. This version still has some fairly serious bugs.

There is nothing magical about early October though. I would rather it be solid than rushed...

-t

madisonjar

Feb 3, 2011
Visit site
Okay this may be a dumb question but I am new to the ios beta release cycle. Can ANYONE install a gm copy of the software on their phone? or do they still have to be on a developer account to get it activated to function 100%? it would be great to get ios5 up and running, thanks!

Timhewitt

Sep 17, 2011
Visit site
The GM will only be released to developers, however there will be no restrictions to it's physical implementation. They do not require UDID registration. It's supposed to be just like what ships and will be sent to the manufacturing sites to be loaded on new hardware.

Anyone who gave you a copy would be in violation of their agreement with Apple however.

-t

skaramanga

Sep 19, 2008
Visit site
Okay this may be a dumb question but I am new to the ios beta release cycle. Can ANYONE install a gm copy of the software on their phone? or do they still have to be on a developer account to get it activated to function 100%? it would be great to get ios5 up and running, thanks!

I believe that once the GM comes out, you can install it without having the phone registered with a dev account. Can't say that's 100% correct though!

madisonjar

Feb 3, 2011
Visit site
The GM will only be released to developers, however there will be no restrictions to it's physical implementation. They do not require UDID registration. It's supposed to be just like what ships and will be sent to the manufacturing sites to be loaded on new hardware.

Anyone who gave you a copy would be in violation of their agreement with Apple however.

-t