I'm new to the iPhone community and was wondering how long the delay is from Apple announcing the next interation of iOS and when it is actually available for download.

Also, I have the Verizon iPhone, any prediction on how long it will take us folks to get the update or if it will be simultaneous with AT&T.

Thanks in advance.
    06-05-2011 05:12 PM
    Will be released at the same time for both devices. And they usually launch the beta for developers first. Not sure but remember is 4 taking 6 weeks I believe from the first beta to release.
    applefanboi likes this.
    06-05-2011 05:35 PM
    Dang! That's a really long time.
    06-05-2011 05:41 PM
    If you really think that's a long time... think of it this way... RIM has been making BB's for what 15 years or more ? They are just now talking about their OS 7 .... we are talking about iOS 5 in just 5 years... be thankful apple ups their OS every year to have more features and make their product better... so consider the alternative lol
    06-05-2011 06:23 PM
    Dang! That's a really long time.
    Not really. Basically we'd have it next month.
    06-05-2011 06:59 PM
    Well waiting means the apps will work with the iOS that's the point of a beta.
    06-05-2011 07:58 PM
    We may see the first beta be seeded tomorrow. Though I would not recommend anyone install it unless you have another device you can use for a full time phone.
    06-05-2011 08:07 PM
    Do you think they would release iOS 5 before the iPhone 5? Would it not seem more likely to ship iOS 5 with the new iPhone 5 and at that same time make it available for the previous iPhone(s)? Just wondering!
    beastcmg likes this.
    06-06-2011 12:56 AM
    I do think that they would release iOS 5 before iPhone 5, and that seems to be what everyone is expecting with the way Apple is talking leading up to WWDC.