newbie to ios

timee80

May 30, 2015
Visit site
Hi everyone. I've just bought my first Apple product, an iphone 5s. I've been Android and bb10 for years and never really understood the cult following for the iphone. I've been feeling the itch for a while to give ios a go and see what I'm missing out on. My 5s should arrive in a few days and I can't wait to start playing. This is a tester phone really and if I enjoy it I'll then treat myself to one of the plus versions.
It's there anything I should know as a total newbie? Can I setup an icloud id before I get it on a pc, or do I do that on the phone itself?
Thanks

Posted via the iMore App for Android

anon(9602380)

Aug 14, 2015
Visit site
Welcome to iMore and congrats on trying IOS. Once you get to know where things are on your new phone, I'm pretty sure you enjoy it. You can set up an Apple ID before and are probably best to do so. Other wise most information can be found here on iMore with a quick search or post. Welcome to IOS and enjoy.

Ledsteplin

Ambassador
Oct 2, 2013
Visit site
Welcome to iMore! The iPhone is user friendly, but remember it is an iPhone that's different in ways to other platforms. Let us know if problems arise. Some things can be confusing still. Congrats on the 5s. It's a nice phone.

timee80

May 30, 2015
Visit site
Thanks. I know the screen size isn't ideal but I'll try and look past that for this initial ios trial period. Is the battery life as bad as people (Android users) say? What screen on time should I expect?

Spencerdl

Apple Watch Champion
Jan 10, 2013
Visit site
Thanks. I know the screen size isn't ideal but I'll try and look past that for this initial ios trial period. Is the battery life as bad as people (Android users) say? What screen on time should I expect?

Welcome to iMore and congratulations on your new iPhone and iOS experience (soon anyway ). The battery on my 5s was noticeably better than my Galaxy S3 and Note3 at that time.

Enjoy the site.

anon(9602380)