Besides iPhone what phone would you use?

pkcable

Q&A Team Leader, VR Expert
Jun 16, 2009
Visit site
Rene,

I'm sure you remember those old desert island posts/lists. You can only take 5 things, or you can only have a CD with 10 songs which 10, or only 10 movies etc. I'm thinking something along those lines. Lets take Apple out of the picture. The factory burned down no more iPhones EVER, and now you MUST pick another phone, out of what is currently out there, what do you choose and why?

Rich

pkcable

Jun 16, 2009
Visit site
I guess I should answer myself! First off a little background. Folks know that I'm a BlackBerry guy, BUT that is no longer an option, so my primary phone is an iPhone 7 Plus. I'm also firmly in the Mac camp with a 27inch iMac and a 12 inch 2016 Mac Book. I have an iPad Pro 9.7 also. I have other phones, a Google Pixel with DayDream View (which I love), a Microsoft Lumia 950 with Dock which I'm just learning, AND a Huawei Mate 9.

Ok so if I had to give it all up and just use 1, AND the Apple factory is burned down so no iPhone, I would pick.........

The Mate 9! It's a fantastic android phone with a 5.9 inch screen in a 5.5 inch form factor, it really is no bigger than my iPhone 7 Plus! It has a VERY iPhone like feature in that you can swipe down to search, which I LOVE and use daily. It also has a VERY handy lock screen which presents me with interesting news items AND a handy tool belt with a flashlight, voice recorder, calculator etc ALL that can be used without opening the phone. AND opening the phone is SO easy with the back fingerprint scanner! The fingerprint scanner can also be used to access the notifications swipe down IF you so choose and I do! And lastly the battery life is amazing it rivals the iPhone, it may even be better!

Rene Ritchie

Old Man Ritchie
Jan 12, 2007
www.about.me
Rene,