HomePod, and the lack of AirPlay 2

iBloke

Jun 19, 2013
Visit site
Firstly I’d like to thank member msm0511 for his support in my other thread, “Thoughts about HomePod, AirPlay 2, and Subwoofers”, here on iMore forums.
He was the only iMore forum member to reply to my posts and it has been greatly appreciated.

I’m a live sound engineer with 30+ years experience, and an owner of nearly 12,000 watts of pro audio speakers/gear.
The speakers are all modern with extensive DSP.

My HomePod arrived on launch day and I was very impressed with its general tone...but even in the small caravan I live in one HomePod is barely enough.
*please refer to my other thread, “Thoughts about HomePod, AirPlay 2, and Subwoofers” for more info rather than me repeating myself here.

Without AirPlay 2, which was promised this year, and existed in iOS 11.3 betas until recently removed, I simply can’t play all my Apple Music to more than one device at a time.
And forget true stereo separation even between 2 HomePods.

The Whaale multiroom player app gave me a partial remedy, but due to Apples DRM restrictions I could only play music to multiple AirPlay receivers both Owned and stored on my iDevices. Not DRM protected music from Apple Music.

I have an old MacBook Air I rarely use, and booting it up tonight I discovered I can actually play ALL music to multiple AirPlay receivers which almost completely solves my issue with AirPlay 2 not being available yet.

Currently listening to a plethora of music from Apple Music through both my HomePod, AND a 1000 watt subwoofer connected to my AirPort express via AirPlay.
(And I’ve just discovered fully volume controlled via “Hey Siri)

1838538ab435919cc7a1aeb5fdabc678.jpg

060c75500d034154916eb462e32deb10.jpg

So this is actually possible via a 7+ year old MacBook, but STILL not available on iOS via the delayed AirPlay 2 protocol ...

Hopefully my post helps someone in the same situation as me.

Rob Phillips

iPhone X & Apple TV Champion, Moderator