Why does Apple not allow third-party keyboards to have a different layout?

Tech2011

Mar 5, 2017
Visit site
Forgive me, I'm a newbie to iOS. I just got an iPhone 8 Plus after switching from a Note 4 (yes, a Note 4). I may be missing something here, but I think Apple doesn't allow third-party keyboards to have different layouts (i.e. add a number row to the top of the keyboard, change the location of punctuation, etc.) I have to say that I'm disappointed with all of the third-party keyboards on iOS. I loved SwiftKey on my Note 4, but SwiftKey on iOS is significantly more limited than its Android counterpart, and I have to think that's not Microsoft's fault. I just wanted to ask and confirm that my suspicion is correct. Am I correct in assuming that the reason third-party keyboards stink is that Apple severely limits their capabilities?

metllicamilitia

Ambassador
Dec 25, 2011
Visit site
Apple isn’t big on large amounts of customization. I assume they limit that function to preserve the amount of screen space above the keyboard by keeping it the same size as iOS’s stock keyboard. I myself find the stock keyboard better than the third party options even if there are a couple extra taps here and there.

cwbcpa

Trusted Member
Mar 23, 2011
Visit site
Apple isn’t big on large amounts of customization. I assume they limit that function to preserve the amount of screen space above the keyboard by keeping it the same size as iOS’s stock keyboard. I myself find the stock keyboard better than the third party options even if there are a couple extra taps here and there.

I agree this assumption and I also find the stock keyboard the better option on iOS. My go to keyboard on android has been swiftkey for many years, but it’s just not the same on iOS. Plus I actually think the stock iOS keyboard is really good so it’s not a big deal.

randally

Jan 10, 2015
Visit site