Should I get an iPhone? Question from an BlackBerry user.

Wybrem

Sep 11, 2015
Visit site
Hello,

As you may or may not know, Whatsapp and Facebook are dropping support for BlackBerry10. This means that I need a new device. Now I REALLY REALLY REALLY hate Android, but I'm not sure about iPhone either. I'd go for Windows Phone, but it's full of bugs and again lack of apps. While it is clear to me that iOS is the superior platform, there's a few things holding me back. And I'm rather new to Apple, so maybe someone could help me with:

-Security. That's right, can I encrypt all my data on the iPhone for instance. How often are there security issues, according to the internet 800+ in the last 8 years compared to BlackBerry's 12 and Android's 250. But I honestly cannot believe that Android is in any way shape or form more secure than iOS.
-Privacy. Does the Apple App Store respect my privacy and enables me to refuses some app permissions such as location tracking?
-Obsolete. How long do app api's last here, I switch phones every 2 years, I don't want to be left out on new app updates within that time.
-Service. How is costumer service. Just received a full refund from BlackBerry two of my devices couldn't update anymore after 2+ years.

These may sound dumb but:
-How does one backup his photo/videos from his iPhone to his computer, do you absolutely need itunes? I hate itunes.
-Is there a place to get all your notifications? e.g. from 5 email addresses and whatsapp and everything just mixed (like BlackBerry HUB).
-Are there Google apps available like Google Photo's for instance.
-Is there an ADBLOCK. If there is one thing that makes a OS/System cheap it's ads, I don't care if they're in 3rd party apps, I don't want to see them, ever.

Last but not least, will the iPhone 7 look a bit more modern (borderless etc) let's be honest the iPhone never won prizes for being beautiful.

metllicamilitia

Ambassador
Dec 25, 2011
Visit site
Hello,