Learning to Code for iOS apps

crovax85

Jun 1, 2010
Visit site
Hi

I have some background in Java and C but I have not touched those skills in years and i've forgotten most of it. I mainly do website design and coding now.

I've been looking around at various books to learn how to program iOS apps. BUt i am confused as to what i should get.

What do I really need to get started?? Any Suggestions?

Thanks

HuaxuCC

Jan 13, 2011
Visit site
you should get familiar with objective c first, there are some basic documents on apple's website:

Please put h t t p : / / before the link.

developer.apple.com/library/ios/#documentation/Cocoa/Conceptual/ObjectiveC/Introduction/introObjectiveC.html

developer.apple.com/library/ios/#documentation/Cocoa/Conceptual/ObjCRuntimeGuide/Introduction/Introduction.html

developer.apple.com/library/ios/#documentation/Cocoa/Reference/ObjCRuntimeRef/Reference/reference.html

Mar 22, 2010
Visit site
How serious are you about learning? I would suggest just putting down the Apple Dev fee, downloading Xcode, and start messing with the Xcode examples.

The usual...hello world...and then so on. For me, I learn while doing and jumping right into the code was what worked for me.

AppsCyclone

Jan 26, 2011
Visit site
Create an account on developer.apple.com/iphone/
There are a lot of useful documentation and sample code.
You may want to try the UICatalog sample first :)

LiquidZed

Feb 7, 2011
Visit site
Work your way through the Stanford CS193P classes on iTunes U. It is the absolute best way to learn iOS programming. Free too.

I agree with the learning from the Stanford course. Then just dive in and try to make a simple Application that can be built upon and just do lots and lots of google searches.

iPadJay

Mar 4, 2011
www.gamesontheipad.com