Make money from a free app

richidirk

May 2, 2010
Visit site
Hi,
my application is the top 5 free application in my country (Switzerland) and in other countries too. I'm not a marketing expert, and this is my first app, so I was wondering: what would you do to make some profit from this application? Maybe make a "premium" 0.99$ version, and let this free, so that it remains in the charts, or simply change the price to 0.99$ ?
Please give me some hints, I don't want to loose this occasion ;)

Thanks in advance!
Ric

iMario

May 10, 2010
www.make-coffee.net
almost 40% of the customers of "pro" applications come from a free version.

What I would suggest you is to create a lite version of ur app with admob banners (or iAd as soon as it will be possibile) and a "Full" version at a fair price. Put a link somewhere on your free version to upgrade to the full app and you will not regret it ;)

Last edited:

msencenb

Aug 20, 2010
Visit site
You might also look into an in-app purchase option.

Using in-app purchases allows you to upsell your users better. You can even use a third party service like urban airship to make it easier.

AvisNocturna

Nov 17, 2010
Visit site
I am the developer of TitanTower HD and I also made a lite version with iAds included. So far, iAd revenue is 1 US$ per day despite good downloads. But the lite version promoted the full version and that's why it is worth making a lite version.

FORTUNEX

Nov 21, 2010
Visit site
iAds, App Purchase, the combination Lite and Full,...

In twitter there are nice information about this, i dont remember now the name, but its something like markenting app or mark your app

WordHooker

Jan 11, 2011
Visit site