How stable is the 4.0 OS? able to put it on a phone used day to day yet?

also, can it be downgraded to 3.1.3?

i AM willing to see a few hiccups, but not willing to have a non functional phone just to test out the new features. lemme know what you think, for those with 4.0 beta already...
    04-10-2010 02:48 PM
    bad idea, no apps are even ready for 4.0 so that means no multi-tasking, and if your not a developer i wouldnt recommend it
    04-10-2010 03:16 PM
    Well. I am currently a dev and running it and have noticed very few bugs and experienced no crashes or locking. As far downgrading it is possible. Here are the steps required to downgrade

To downgrade from 4.0 beta to 3.1.3. (since I did not save my SHSH files)I was able to restore by going to DFU mode and restoring the old firmware using the new ITunes 9.2, The restore fails half way when it tries to downgrade the baseband (which we know does not work). After the restore fails, it puts your phone on the recovery mode loop, to get out of this, I just ran blackra1n when it was on the recovery mode screen, this led to the screen going blank. Keep the sleep/wake and home button pressed until apple logo shows up and it should take you to your home screen eventually.
    04-10-2010 07:43 PM
    itunes 9.2? is this right?
    04-10-2010 08:21 PM
    9.2 isn't a production version. I don't know what he's talking about.
    04-11-2010 09:08 PM
    I've heard that there's no going back (at least, not easily), but apart from the hiccups that I mentioned in the bugs thread, it's been fine for me as a daily-use device.

That said, some of your most frequently used apps might not be supported at all at the moment (for example, I had to download a different Twitter client because Echofon became totally unusable), but that's not really a big deal.
    04-12-2010 01:34 PM