Hey! what a great forum. SOOO glad I found it.

I am a classical pianist/cancer survivor w/ a lot of financial limitations. My ex is kicking me off of his plan as of Jan. 16. Currently with Verizon, non smart phone. (more about me on my facebook page.)
    I do all my scheduling on line at my piano studio website. All admin, marketing, etc. on a Mac.Am trying to get into social networking to promote a new fundraising project to reduce my 6 figure post treatment debt.

I am trying to find the least expensive way to be able to access my calendar in a mobile device. Seems Iphone is the answer. But what is the best approach:

new contract w/ ATT which I figure will run me $75/mo + tax for voice, data, text. Phone will be $140 + tax because of the lovely 'activation fee'.

buying used/unlocked phone somewhere or other, then getting new contract w/ T Mobile. Maybe also getting a free phone through T mobile in case I can't get I phone to work right away? I haven't really researched all the charges on this. Did see posts about 'edge' service which seems like it would be cheaper.

So, I would love hear opinions about what I should do. I am not sure which choice is the best blend of convenience/less hassle vs. cost. I am leaning towards ATT but will call T Mobile tomorrow. I would LOVE to know what other people think. I need to move on this in the next 2-3 days.

Thanks in advance!!!
    01-10-2010 11:01 PM
    Prices for monthly service at T-Mo are a fraction of what you'll pay on AT&T. You can get any phone you want on ebay to use on T-Mo, but it uses a different frequency than AT&T, so you will not get fast data with an unlocked iPhone no matter what you pay.
    01-11-2010 06:53 AM
    This is a great help. But what does 'fast' data mean? Will I be able to pull up a web page w/o video or music and 3-4 screens of entry within about 3 minutes? (this is what I need for web based calendar access).