To knowledge givers:

I want to get an iphone 3G from craigslist and just put in my sim card from my current phone (nokia E71 unlocked) with the a unlimited media net plan for $15 dollars that I activated on an older Samsung sync. I've been using the E71 for about 8 months and I haven't any data problems except I can't receive or send picture messages. Otherwise everything else works... tethering, email,etc. I'm willing to unlock/jailbreak the iphone if necessary. Does anyone foresee any potential problems?

I just believe that the cost of ownership with a 2 year iphone data contract is ridiculous if you're getting the same type of 'data' through a media net plan. Although the 'unlimited' media net plan is actually capped at 5 GB/ month I'll be sure to stay under that if all goes well.

Thanks in advance!!
    Last edited by rusher557; 10-06-2009 at 08:16 PM. Reason: Clarification
    10-06-2009 08:15 PM
    The $15 data plan will work fine in the iPhone. U just won't have visual voicemail. But AT&T may catch u when the system does it's random sweeps and automatically change ur plan. btw, u don't need to jailbreak the phone in order for it to work. Good luck.
    10-08-2009 09:35 PM
    Thanks for the useful information rdiddy_25.

Is there a full proof way to 'trick' ATT indefinitely? How do they do a sweep anyway? Can one scramble the IMEI number to make detection impossible? I hear that apple has an app for everything...is there an 'app' for that?
    10-09-2009 01:35 AM
    Just purchase the correct plan. You will get caught and they will change your plan and/or charge you more as well. Best to be safe as AT&T constantly sweeps to make sure you are on the correct plan based on the device you are using.
    10-09-2009 10:47 AM
    Thanks for the useful information rdiddy_25.