Connecting to CarPlay

ZOFOURTWENTY

Jan 11, 2011
Visit site
I’m new to CarPlay and today I bought a 2018 Volkswagen Tiguan. In order for me to get started I have connect my 11 Pro via USB. I want to use CarPlay but I don’t want my iPhone charging constantly. Is the USB connection only for initial setup and then afterwards it’ll connect via Bluetooth? I haven’t had a chance to mess with it yet and couldn’t find a straight answer on Google. Thanks

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
Unless your car supports wireless CarPlay, you will have to leave your iPhone connected via USB in order to use “CarPlay”.

ZOFOURTWENTY

Jan 11, 2011
Visit site
Unless your car supports wireless CarPlay, you will have to leave your iPhone connected via USB in order to use “CarPlay”.

Dam. Guess I’ll have to mess around with it and see if it does. If it doesn’t then I guess I won’t be using it smh. Thanks bud, I can always count on you for the info

Just_Me_D

Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
Dam. Guess I’ll have to mess around with it and see if it does. If it doesn’t then I guess I won’t be using it smh. Thanks bud, I can always count on you for the info

You’re welcome, sir. I have a 2019 BMW 430i Gran Coupè xDrive and it has wireless CarPlay. With that being said, I can disable CarPlay and use the Bluetooth feature of BMW’s iDrive system and still be able to view and play my Music playlists. Because of that, I already know I won’t be renewing BMW’s Wireless CarPlay subscription after the initial year is up.

ZOFOURTWENTY

Jan 11, 2011
Visit site
You’re welcome, sir. I have a 2019 BMW 430i Gran Coupè xDrive and it has wireless CarPlay. With that being said, I can disable CarPlay and use the Bluetooth feature of BMW’s iDrive system and still be able to view and play my Music playlists. Because of that, I already know I won’t be renewing BMW’s Wireless CarPlay subscription after the initial year is up.