What classes and what institutions offer the best education specifically for Apple products?

andrewoleynik

Dec 26, 2016
Visit site
Rene, I saw elsewhere you mentioned swift was a good learning tool. However I'm wonder what type of stuff I should study to become a programmer. Like what classes and what institutions offer the best education specifically for Apple products? Is swift good enough? Could I get a job just by playing on swift playgrounds?

Rene Ritchie

Old Man Ritchie
Jan 12, 2007
www.about.me
Re: Learn to code

Rene, I saw elsewhere you mentioned swift was a good learning tool. However I'm wonder what type of stuff I should study to become a programmer. Like what classes and what institutions offer the best education specifically for Apple products? Is swift good enough? Could I get a job just by playing on swift playgrounds?

I'm not a programmer so hopefully someone else can add a more informed response as well.

Swift Playgrounds on iPad seems like a good way to at least dip your toe in the water, though!

Jeroen7

Sep 9, 2015
Visit site

A programming language is just a tool you use to create something. So learning to program is not really language specific but more a conceptual thing. Actually it's mostly about solving problems or how would I make this do what I, or the one you build something for, want.

How you solve something does have a relation to the tool you use, because different tools use different ways to get where you need to be.
Usually you'd go through a study in computer science or programming, but there are a lot of people (specially age 50+) that changed carreers later to become a programmer with a mathematics or physics background. There are plenty of courses to learn specific programming languages, but as a programmer, writing code is mostly the smallest part of it.

I hope this still makes sense :)