1. iMore Question's Avatar
    I have just had a software update on my MacBook Pro. (Used to belong to my husband, who has just upgraded) On restarting there was a prompt to enter Apple ID, and my husband entered his, since I don't have one.
    Problem is, on Safari, all the Favourite Bookmarks are now his, and not mine - how do I get mine back - if I just alter these, they will affect his laptop too, since they are linked to his account.
    I have tried signing out on the App Store
    03-10-2015 04:29 PM
  2. kch50428's Avatar
    System Preferences... iCloud...sign out.
    03-10-2015 04:33 PM
  3. LaneyB69's Avatar
    I was concerned about this - when I select iCloud...Sign Out it says that "If you turn off iCloud Drive, all documents stored in iCloud will be deleted from this Mac (Your documents will still be available on other devices using iCloud)"
    Didn't want to risk losing my documents or my husbands!
    03-10-2015 04:52 PM
  4. Just_Me_D's Avatar
    I have just had a software update on my MacBook Pro. (Used to belong to my husband, who has just upgraded) On restarting there was a prompt to enter Apple ID, and my husband entered his, since I don't have one.
    Problem is, on Safari, all the Favourite Bookmarks are now his, and not mine - how do I get mine back - if I just alter these, they will affect his laptop too, since they are linked to his account.
    I have tried signing out on the App Store
    You should be able to export your bookmarks and then be able to import them once you've signed in to iCloud on the computer with your own Apple ID.
    03-10-2015 05:44 PM
  5. Just_Me_D's Avatar
    I was concerned about this - when I select iCloud...Sign Out it says that "If you turn off iCloud Drive, all documents stored in iCloud will be deleted from this Mac (Your documents will still be available on other devices using iCloud)"
    Didn't want to risk losing my documents or my husbands!
    The data is still available in iCloud even if you choose to remove it from the computer. Furthermore, when you sign back in, the information will re-sync to the computer.
    03-10-2015 05:47 PM
  6. LaneyB69's Avatar
    Thank you - but as my bookmarks aren't there, I have nothing to export - If they were there, I wouldn't have this problem....
    03-10-2015 06:34 PM
  7. LaneyB69's Avatar
    I shall have to be brave and try this I think! Thanks. My husband and I usually only save stuff to our laptop hard drives anyway, so I don't think it should be a problem......it's just that phrase "documents.....will be deleted from this Mac...."
    03-10-2015 06:37 PM

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-02-2015, 07:24 PM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-11-2015, 12:55 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-10-2015, 10:39 PM
  4. What should I do ?
    By iMore Question in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-10-2015, 03:36 PM
  5. The New MacBook: What it is and what it is not
    By iMore.com in forum iMore.com News Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-10-2015, 03:30 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD