I'm still fairly new to iOS since I got an iPad a few days ago. Is it recommended to close apps on iOS 8? I have 44 app cards showing when i double press the home button.
    12-15-2014 02:53 AM
    I usually close mine when I'm finished. I have an iPad Air 2, I get 10+ hours of use that way. When I leave them open I seem to get around 8 hrs.
    Aiden Howlett likes this.
    12-15-2014 03:10 AM
    I would imagine only one or two of those 44 you see are actually running in the background. Stop me if I am wrong, but doesn't iOS forbid apps running in the background unless they are of a specific type?
    Aiden Howlett and GSM-S like this.
    12-15-2014 07:37 AM
    I would imagine only one or two of those 44 you see are actually running in the background. Stop me if I am wrong, but doesn't iOS forbid apps running in the background unless they are of a specific type?
    Correct. It's better to think of those app cards as a recently used list rather than a list of running apps. The only apps that run in the background are audio, VoIP, navigation and I think apps can request about 10 minutes after you open another app to finish up what they are doing (like uploading photos to Dropbox).
    cwbcpa, Aiden Howlett and GSM-S like this.
    12-15-2014 08:07 AM