I'm a long-term BlackBerry user (and part-time Android user) who's considering her options as my upgrade approaches.

I work in IT, and it's important that I be alerted whenever a server goes offline. My BlackBerry uses an app to watch for "Alert:" in the subject, while my Android uses an app to receive emails from an email address dedicated to receiving only alerts. In both cases the phone will sound a loud alarm when an alert is received, even when in "Silent Mode" at night when all other notifications are silenced, and continues to sound the alert every few minutes until I acknowledge it.

Can that functionality be replicated though iOS with either settings and/or an app?

I see iOS has VIP settings for email, but it doesn't seem to override Do Not Disturd mode. And while I see repeating alerts for up to twenty minutes for Messages, I don't see anything for emails.

I basically want my phone to stay quiet at night except for phone calls or certain "Alert:" emails. Can that be done in iOS?
    09-21-2014 04:03 PM
  2. Just_Me_D said: Best Answer

Phone calls from contacts who are a part of your "Favorites" group will audibly alert you when DNR is active if the option is enabled in the Do Not Disturb settings, however, there is no such option for text and email alerts.
    Phone calls from contacts who are a part of your "Favorites" group will audibly alert you when DNR is active if the option is enabled in the Do Not Disturb settings, however, there is no such option for text and email alerts.
    katesbb likes this.
    09-21-2014 09:08 PM
    Can a third-party app override that though?

Neither BlackBerry nor Android have a built-in option to override Silent Mode for emails or text, but by using BeBuzz (BlackBerry) or LightFlow (Android) I can have alerts sound under specific conditions, even if the phone is otherwise silenced. The apps monitor incoming mails and texts, and sound an alert when certain conditions are met - even in SIlent Mode.