I am a musician and I need a macbook on which I can work my music, perform recordings and listen to music. So I want a Macbook with the best sound carg and sound system. I am between MacBook Air 13.3" 256GB / 8GB RAM and MacBook Pro 13" Retina Display 2.4GHz / 128GB. Are they suitable for my needs? Do you propose any other models? Thank you!
    03-10-2014 12:27 PM
    I know you want input and i would like to ask if you are a Professional Musician? If so you might want to ask some of your colegues. Also we have an Ambassador here name iEd which could be of help to you if you PM him as he is a Professional musician and lastly pull up the specs side by side to see where you are going to get the best components for your money out of the MAC. Good luck.
    03-10-2014 12:38 PM
    Those two systems will have pretty much the same sound. Apple doesn't allow customization of a sound card so they are both using on-board sound.
    03-10-2014 02:06 PM
    To the OP. As far as sound you need a audio I/0 or interface. Same thing. There are a few ways you can go. A USB interface, FireWire and even Thunderbolt. Depending on the what the computer has. For the new MacBooks it's going to be Tbolt or USB. There are literally hundreds of USB audio interfaces to choose from not so many Thunderbolt. But there are some high end ones that are Thunderbolt. You want one with 24bit and 96Khz A/D resolution. Depending on what and how many things you want to record simultaneously as far as inputs. If you are just recording say one instrument at a time you may only need two inputs.

Here's a link to Sweetwater Music as a starting point.
    http://www.sweetwater.com/c695--USB_Audio_Interfaces
    You probably can find better deals at Amazon and a few other online music stores.